The official website of
Gilpin County

Colorado
203 Eureka Street, Central City, 303.582.5214

 

Commissioners

Community Center Departments Employment COUNTY Events

 

Gilpin County Buildings, Departments & Officials

The Old Courthouse
203 Eureka Street
Central City, CO 80427

Administration, Assessor,
Clerk & Recorder, Commissioners, Community Development, Treasurer

The Justice Center
2960 Dory Hill Road
Black Hawk, CO 80422

Combined Courts, Coroner, District Attorney, Human Services, Jail, Sheriff, Victim Services
Emergency Services

The Apex Building
495 Apex Valley Road,
Black Hawk, CO 80422

Human Resources
Finance

To go directly to a department's information in this document, please click on the department name listed below:

The Combined Courts located in the Justice Center are State of Colorado Offices.  Please call 303-582-5522 for information.
Administration & County Commissioners
Assessor
Clerk & Recorder
Community Center & Park & Recreation Department
Community Development
Coroner
CSU Extension
Emergency Services
Facilities Manager & Maintenance
Finance
Human Resources
Human Services
Library
Public Health Agency
Public Works
Sheriff / Jail / Dispatch
Trash Transfer Station
Treasurer
Veteran Service Officer

ADMINISTRATION / COUNTY COMMISSIONERS
203 Eureka Street, 2nd Floor
P.O. Box 366, Central City, CO 80427
Phone: 303-582-5214
Fax: 303-582-5440
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
Gilpin County Commissioners
District 1 - Buddy Schmalz, buddyschmalz@gmail.com
District 2 - Linda Isenhart, lisenhart@co.gilpin.co.us
District 3 - Gail Watson,  gwatson@co.gilpin.co.us
County Manager - Roger Baker, rbaker@co.gilpin.co.us
Deputy Clerk to the Board - Sharon Cate, scate@co.gilpin.co.us
Events/911 Coordinator - Vicki Nemec, vnemec@co.gilpin.co.us
Web Coordinator, Newsletter editor - Vicki Nemec, vnemec@co.gilpin.co.us
general e-mail address pubcomment@co.gilpin.co.us
back to top

ASSESSOR
203 Eureka Street, 1st Floor
P.O. Box 338, Central City, CO 80427
Phone: 303-582-5451
Fax: 303-565-1796
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
County Assessor - Anne Schafer, aschafer@co.gilpin.co.us
general email address for all information - assessor@co.gilpin.co.us
back to top

CLERK AND RECORDER
203 Eureka Street, 1st Floor
P.O. Box 429, Central City, CO 80427
Phone: 303-582-5321
Fax: 303-565-1797
Hours: 8:00 to 5:30, Monday through Friday
County Clerk   Colleen Stewart
general e-mail address gcclerk@co.gilpin.co.us
Election e-mail address - gcelections@co.gilpin.co.us
Motor Vehicle e-mail address - gcmotorvehicle@co.gilpin.co.us
Recordings e-mail address - gcrecording@co.gilpin.co.us
website - http://co.gilpin.co.us/ClerkRecorder/default.htm
back to top

COMMUNITY CENTER/ PARKS & RECREATION DEPARTMENT
250 Norton Drive, Black Hawk, CO  80422
Phone: 303-582-1453
Fax: 303-582-5404
Recreation Director
Kathi Lambert
e-mail address klambert@co.gilpin.co.us
general e-mail address - gcrec@co.gilpin.co.us
website - http://co.gilpin.co.us/Recreation/default.htm
back to top

COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT (Building/Planning/Zoning)
203 Eureka Street, 3rd Floor
P.O. Box 661, Central City, CO 80427
Phone:  303-582-5831
Fax: 303-565-1796
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
Community Development Director - Tony Petersen
e-mail address tpetersen@co.gilpin.co.us
Planner - Ray Rears
e-mail address rrears@co.gilpin.co.us
web site - http://co.gilpin.co.us/CommunityDevelop/CDHomePage.htm
FOR ISDS (septic) OR ENVIRONMENTAL INFORMATION PLEASE GO TO PUBLIC HEALTH SITE. 
Go There
back to top

CORONER
P.O. Box 333, Central City, CO 80427
Phone: 303-582-3957
Please leave a message and it will be returned as soon as possible.
Coroner Zane Laubhan
e-mail address zanel@co.gilpin.co.us
back to top

CSU EXTENSION
230 Norton Drive,  Black Hawk, CO  80422 (Located at the Exhibit Building at fairgrounds)
Phone: 303-582-9106
Fax: 303-582-5062
Hours: Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
Extension Agent- Irene Shonle
e-mail address - ishonle@co.gilpin.co.us
back to top

Gilpin County Emergency Services
2960 Dory Hill Road, Ste 300, room 222 Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone:  303-582-5500

Emergency Services Coordinator - Steve Watson swatson@co.gilpin.co.us
back to top

FACILITIES MANAGER AND MAINTENANCE DEPARTMENT
395 Apex Valley Road, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Mailing: PO Box 457, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303-582-9084
Fax: 303-582-9085
Facilities Manager - Bill Paulman
PO Box 457, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303--951-3674
Fax: 303-951-3675
e-mail address - wpaulman@co.gilpin.co.us
Maintenance Technician - Tim Lewerke
Phone: 720-880-7953
Fax: 303-951-3675
e-mail address tlewerke@co.gilpin.co.us
back to top

FINANCE
P.O. Box 366, Central City, CO 80427
495 Apex Valley Road, Black Hawk, CO  80422
Phone: 303-951-3671
Fax: 303-951-3675
Hours: Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
Finance Director - Clorinda Smith
e-mail address - csmith@co.gilpin.co.us
Finance Clerk - Judy Stuerenberg
e-mail address - gilpinfinance@co.gilpin.co.us
back to top


HUMAN RESOURCES
P.O. Box 366, Central City, CO 80427
495 Apex Valley Road, Black Hawk, CO  80422
Phone: 303-951-3673
Fax: 303-951-3675
Human Resources Director
- Susan Allen, suallen@co.gilpin.co.us 303-951-3673

HUMAN SERVICES
2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 100, Black Hawk, CO  80422
Phone: 303-582-5444
Fax: 303-582-5798
Human Services Director Betty Donovan
e-mail address - elizabeth.donovan@state.co.us
back to top

LIBRARY
P.O. Box 551, Black Hawk, CO  80422
15131 Highway 119
Phone: 303-582-5777
Fax: 303-582-3938
Hours: Tuesday & Thursday - 1:00 p.m. to 8:00p.m.
            Wednesday - 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
            Friday - 1:00 p.m.  to 6:00 p.m.
            Saturday - 9:00 a.m.  to 4:00 p.m.
Library Director Larry Grieco
web page - http://gilpinlibrary.org
general e-mail address gilpinlib@co.gilpin.co.us
back to top

PUBLIC HEALTH AGENCY
101 Norton Drive, Black Hawk, CO  80422
Phone: 303-582-5803
Fax: 303-582-9063
Public Health Director- Mark B. Johnson, MD
Gilpin County Public Health Coordinator - Bonnie Albrecht, 303-582-5803 ext.13
balbrech@co.jefferson.co.us
general email address - gilpinph@co.gilpin.co.us
back to top

PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT
255 Braecher Park Rd., Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303-582-5004
Fax: 303-582-3291
Director: Bill Paulman
Office Hours: 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM M-F. Answering Machine will answer during off-hours.
general e-mail address - gcroads@co.gilpin.co.us
back to top

SHERIFF/JAIL/DISPATCH
SHERIFF ADMINISTRATION
2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 300, Black Hawk, CO  80422
Phone: 303-582-1060
Fax: 303-582-3813
TTY/TDD Machine - 303-582-0745
Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
Sheriff Bruce Hartman
e-mail address - bhartman@co.gilpin.co.us
Undersheriff Jon Bayne
e-mail address - jbayne@co.gilpin.co.us
general e-mail address - sheriff@co.gilpin.co.us
web page - http://co.gilpin.co.us/Sheriff/sheriffindex.htm
JAIL
2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 350, Black Hawk, CO  80422
Phone: 303-582-3576
Fax: 303-582-3574Visiting Hours:
Saturday and Sunday - 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Tuesday - 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Jail Administration- Captain Tonia Kapke
e-mail address - kapke@co.gilpin.co.us
DISPATCH
2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 300, Black Hawk, CO  80422
Emergency - 9 1 1
Non-emergency - 303-582-5500
Hours: 24 Hour Coverage
Dispatch Supervisor Steve Watson, swatson@co.gilpin.co.us
general e-mail address gcdispatch@co.gilpin.co.us
VICTIM SERVICES
2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 300, Black Hawk, CO  80422
Office - 303-582-5926, Fax: 582-6018
Victim Services Director  - 
e-mail address - gilpinvictimservices@co.gilpin.co.us
Victim Advocate -
e-mail address -
back to top

TRASH TRANSFER STATION
physical - 278 Jankowski Drive, Black Hawk, CO  80422
Click here for trash site details and rates.
Phone: For more information please call 303-582-5004 weekdays between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m.
back to top


TREASURER
203 Eureka Street, 1st Floor
P.O. Box 368, Central City, CO 80427
Office: - 303-582-5222
Fax: 303-582-3086
Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
Treasurer: Alynn Huffman
general e-mail address gctreasurer@co.gilpin.co.us
back to top

VETERAN SERVICE OFFICE

Gilpin Justice Center
2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 100, Black Hawk, CO  80422
Office: 303-582-5444 ext 1103
Cell: 303 887-1118



back to top